Lac du Génépy
>>
Home
>
Walking hike
>
Lac du Génépy
AUSSOIS

Lac du Génépy

Flora
Geology
Lake and glacier
Embed this item to access it offline
From the cembra pine forest to the glacial cirque, a journey of 3,000 km to to the north over a 3 hour walk.
The date on the calendar indicated the 14th July on this morning... There is not a ripple of water on the Génépy lake despite the gusting northerly winds. This is because a thick layer of ice covers the lake. The varying colours of the mineral world around me transect the swirls of fresh snow. This is where you go up to the Lac du Génépy, starting out from the forest in your short sleeves until you end up thinking you’re crossing the rocky stretches of Iceland, where the plants have adapted in mad-cap fashion to cling to these rocky mounds. Here the birds no longer sing, only the ringing sounds of the alpine choughs and the guttural sounds of the ptarmigan resonate. Mathieu Beurier – National Park Ranger

21 points of interest
Fauna

The spotted nutcracker

This bird, with its robust beak and aptitude at opening the cones of the cembro pine, feeds almost exclusively on its seeds. It alerts visitors to the forest of its presence by its gravelly and discordant cry. Ÿou may be able to see the spotted nutcracker towards the end of summer, flitting from one pine to another to extract its seeds. He then hides them in bundles in the soil which he will then find again in the winter. The spotted nutcracker is able to memorise several hundred of these hiding places and find them under the snow. The very few caches that have been forgotten will perhaps provide new small cembro pines. The cembro pines benefit greatly from this association, known as symbiosis.
read more
Flora

The lilium martagon

In June to July when you leave the forest and set foot on the mountain pastures, you may find a large plant with purple flowers. The lilium martagon, a rare species, colonises the clearings of the forest boundary. It favours so-called mespophilic meadows that are neither too dry or too moist. This plant, once picked, was threatened. It is now out of danger but will require, like other species, much respect on your part.
read more
Pastoralism

Agricultural decline

Ÿou will notice on both sides of the trail, towards the Randolière, numerous small cembro pines, established in the middle of the pastures. Whereas the entire slope was once grazed and mown, the gradual disappearance of small farm holdings and the change in practices have encouraged this forest species to recolonise the area. Over time, if agriculture were to disappear, it’s in the forest that you would find yourself. The loss of these pasture lands will lead to a decline in biodiversity.
read more
Viewpoint

Lakes of the Aussois dam

Downhill behind you, you will be able to see the lakes of the Aussois dams. The Plan d’Amont is remarkable for its turquoise colour, fed only by the melting snows and clear streams. Downstream, the Vanoise glaciers feed the lake thanks to 19 km of underground tunnels originating from the Doron de Termignon. The water is loaded with glacial “flour”, fine mineral particles torn from the mountains. This is what gives the Plan d’Aval its grey, milky colour.
read more
Fauna

The common rock thrush

This colourful bird did not escape from a garden centre. Despite spending its winter in Sub-Saharan Africa, the common rock thrush regularly inhabits the dry rocky and sunny slopes of our mountains to breed. While it can feed on small lizards and seeds or fruit, it gains most benefit from the abundance of various insects. At the end of summer, it will return to its wintering areas. The common rock thrush has been on the decline in France for several years with about 1,500 breeding pairs left only in France. It is a spectacle to see, so keep a keen eye.
read more
Flora

The Silene acaulis

This cushion, punctuated by bright pink flowers, is not a moss. The silene acaulis is one of the champions of adapting to the worst. The cushion-like form allows it to reduce day-time and night-time temperature variations that can be significant at these altitudes. Moisture will also be trapped in this hairy, small-leaved stem. The ancient decomposed leaves of the silène acaulis contain nutrients that will allow it to grow and to bloom. A taproot in the cushion’s core will allow it to cling to the steepest terrain.
read more
Fauna

The mountain hare

Also known as the white hare, it has a rock-brown coloured coat in the summer and an all-white coat in the winter except for the tips of its ears. Smaller and rounder than the European hare, the mountain hare also has shorter ears and a thicker coat to limit heat loss. Its wider back paws act as snowshœs which allow it to move easily over the snow.
read more
Flora

Persicaria vivipara

In the midst of the sand and rock, a stem loaded with small white flowers appears. The persicaria vivipara grows here. Some plants germinate and develop in the fruit while the latter is still attached to the stock plant. This phenomenon corresponds to vegetative viviparity. If you examine the persicaria vivipara, you will see small green bulbs attached to the stem. The fruits of the persicaria vivipara then begin to germinate on the plant. The seeds of the persicaria vivipara are a delicacy for the rock ptarmigan.
read more
Geology

Snowy paving

Look around you for flat, damp areas without vegetation. Ÿou are bound to notice that the rock slabs seem to have been sorted and patiently arranged, one against the other. Man is not responsible for this geometric pattern. Here, the alternating freezing and thawing cycles and the weight of the snow encourage the transport of stones and their alignment to create what we call snowy paving. In other cases, these phenomena may create polygonal grounds or stone circles.
read more
Geology

The filling of wetlands

As you descend from the lake, you will notice the grassy and flat stretches of terrain. The ancient glacier has gouged out depressions in the bedrock. When the ice retreated, these areas became lakes. Just like the Lac du Génépy, alluvium has filled these depressions, the hygrophilous vegetation then colonised these wetlands. Some of these areas then dried up to become small grassy plateaus amid the ´rocky ground´.
read more
Flora

The dwarf willow

Perhaps you have unintentionally trampled over its small, green and shiny oval leaves? Like Gargantua, you were walking over a forest! The dwarf willow (Salix herbacea) is the smallest tree in the world. Like other willows, its flowers will come together in catkins and cover the rocks with a fine cottony layer in July and August. The male and female flowers are on separate plants.
read more
Fauna

The rock ptarmigan

The Rock ptarmigan, known simply as the ptarmigan is an arctic-alpine bird. Indeed, its area of presence has followed the thawing prehistoric glaciers towards northern Europe and at altitude. In the Alps, it is found only above 2,300 m altitude. In order to escape from its predators, the ptarmigan becomes white in winter and in summer its plumage takes on the colours of the rocky ground and shallow grasses that it favours. As a mainly flightless bird, evolution has covered its talons in feathers to prevent heat loss, allowing it to move over snow, effectively giving it snowshœs.
read more
Geology

The Lac du Génépy and its moraine

If you think you will discover a clear expanse of water when you arrive at the lake, you will be surprised. The Lac du Génépy is a glacial lake. At the end of the little ice age (1550-1850) the Labby glacier left a moraine on the right bank of the lake. A moraine is an accumulation of stones transported along the front of the glacier and left in place during its retreat. The glacier gouges out the rock in front of the moraine. The glacial meltwater occurs in this basin, creating the Lac du Génépy. The very fine mineral particles that you can touch on the shores of the lake fill it gradually and give it its milky colour.
read more
Small heritage

The Cabane de Labby

The Vanoise National Park is monitored by rangers in every season. They collect data essential to the knowledge of flora and fauna, monitor the territory and welcome and provide information to hikers. For these missions, the park rangers can count on a network of surveillance cabins scattered throughout the heart of the park. Standing before you, the Cabane de Labby, is one of them.
read more
Geology

The Fond d’Aussois

As you begin the steep descent to the Fond d´Aussois, look out for this example of a large-scale glacial basin. Imagine for a moment the glacier descending from the Col d’Aussois: its flow is slowed by the narrowing of the valley, further increasing its erosive power. A depression is created. As the ice melts, a lake is created and fills by accumulating fluvio-lacustrine alluvium. Once completely filled, the site of the lake is occupied by a very flat plain where the Saint Benoit stream gently flows today.
read more
Geology

Fond D’Aussois Basin

A glacial basin is the name give to the area dug out by a glacial valley. Once the glacier recedes, this depression is generally occupied by a lake of variable size which gradually fills up with fluvio-lacustrine alluvium until it forms a plateau. Here, certain areas retain their swamp-like properties with typical plants such as swertia perennis. These rich and flat grasslands have long been appreciated for livestock farming as evidenced by the presence of old alpine huts.
read more
Fauna

Marmots

Belonging to the squirrel family, marmots occupy the plateau in small family groups. Ÿou can spot them eating as, having become accustomed to passing hikers, they are not timid. Ÿou can hear their shrill screams echoing in the mountain as they alert their fellow-mates to the presence of any predators. Marmots are born in June in the shelter of their family burrow. It’s only in July that you will be able to see them.
read more
Small heritage

Vanoise National Park

“Here there is space. Here there is pure air. Here there is silence. The kingdom of flawless dawns and naive beasts...”. It was with these words that Samivel wrote the commandments of the National Park upon its creation in 1963. Ÿou enter a protected area, “the great garden of the French” which it is your responsibility to protect. The regulations are displayed on the various panels intended for hikers.
read more
Flora

The cembra pine

The pinus cembra is comprised of the cembro or arolla pine. The hardwood is used in cabinet-making. Its long needles, in ascicles of five, make it easily recognisable. Mountaineers consume the cones or seeds, competing with the spotted nutcracker. The cembro pine climbs up to 2,300 m and is fond of acid soil and varied orientations. Together with the rhododendron, bilberries and cranberries, it constitutes the forest boundary.
read more
Architecture

The Plan d’Amont Dam

Built at the end of the Second World War to meet the country´s energy needs, its clear waters cover a valley formerly used for agropastoralism. With the Plan d’Aval Dam, it was originally conceived as a set of three dams which should have flooded the valley of Fond d´Aussois. The construction of the two dams required the creation of a quarry for extracting materials, which has now been turned into the car park. These sites contain a vast underground network of water pipes.
read more
Flora

Rhodora

This shrub adorns the mountain with the most beautiful colours from mid-June until the end of July. In Greek, Rhododendron means “red tree” and its ferruginous qualities come from the rusty colour of the underside of its leaves. The rhododendron finds it is perfectly at home on the slopes where the snow persists and thereby offers it protection against the frost.
read more

Description

"From the car park, follow the route of the Refuge de la Dent Parrachée. Behind it, the trail is indicated by the National Park’s yellow signs.Follow the direction for ""Lac du Génépy"". After about 30 minutes, cross the footbridge and continue the trail to the lake. To return, follow the same path. Just before the Refuge de la Dent Parrachée, turn right towards the Fond d´Aussois. Be careful, after 300 m, a short passage requires vigilance. Follow the trail to a footbridge that you leave on its right and continue south to the GR5 intersection. Then turn right and go down to the bridge you have to cross, follow the direction for Aussois until the Plan d´Amont dam from where you reach the car park."
Departure : Dam site, village of Aussois
Arrival : Dam site, village of Aussois
Towns crossed : AUSSOIS

Altimetric profile


Recommandations

High mountain route to be prepared in advance. Make sure you have the appropriate equipment and footwear and an IGN map for navigating. The weather in the mountains can change very quickly and you should turn around if it is bad.
Is in the midst of the park
The national park is an unrestricted natural area but subjected to regulations which must be known by all visitors.

Information desks

Maison Cantonale<br>9 Place Sommeiller<br>73500 Modane,

http://www.cchautemaurienne.com/

info@cchmv.fr

04 79 05 26 67


Find out more

43 route des Barrages<br>73500 Aussois,

http://www.aussois.com

info@aussois.com

04 79 20 30 80


Find out more

Maison cantonale - Place sommeiller<br>73500 Modane,

04 79 05 57 94


Find out more

Transport

"
Rail connection to Modane. Information: www.voyages-sncf.com
Then transport by coach to the administrative centre of Aussois. Information: www.transavoie.com
No public transport between Aussois and the dam site.
Suggested hitchhiking organised in the Haute-Maurienne valley. Information: www.rezopouce.fr
"

Access and parking

In Modane, take the D 215 towards Aussois. Once you’ve arrived in Aussois, go to the top of the village and take the small road that rises towards the dams. Leave a panoramic viewpoint on the left and take a steep road on the right for 100 m to reach the car park.

Parking :

Car park provided by the municipality for the entire dam site, departure point for all hikes.

Accessibility

The terminal car park is equipped with amenities but is not beyond the trail described in this record.
Emergency number :
114

Report a problem or an error

If you have found an error on this page or if you have noticed any problems during your hike, please report them to us here:

Lac du Génépy
>>
Accueil
>
A pied
>
Lac du Génépy
AUSSOIS

Lac du Génépy

Flore
Géologie
Lac et glacier
Embarquer cet élément afin d'y avoir accès hors connexion
De la cembraie au cirque glaciaire, un voyage de 3000 km vers le nord en 3 h de marche.
La date sur le calendrier indiquait pourtant bien le 14 juillet ce matin... Il n'y a pas une ride sur le plan d'eau du Génépy malgré les rafales de vent du Nord. Pour cause, une épaisse couche de glace recouvre le lac. La variété de couleur du monde minéral qui m'entoure tranche avec les tourbillons de neige fraîche. C'est cela de monter au lac du Génépy, partir de la forêt en manche courte et finir par croire parcourir les étendues rocheuses de l'Islande, où les plantes présentent les adaptations les plus folles pour se cramponner à ces amas de rocailles. Ici les oiseaux ne chantent plus mais seuls résonnent les cris sonores des chocards et les sons gutturaux du lagopède. Mathieu Beurier – Garde-moniteur du Parc national

Les 21 patrimoines à découvrir
Faune

Le casse-noix moucheté

Cet oiseau au bec robuste adapté à l'ouverture des cônes de pin cembro, se nourrit quasi exclusivement des graines de ce dernier. Il se signale aux visiteurs des forêts par son cri rocailleux et peu harmonieux. Vous observerez peut-être le casse-noix moucheté, à la fin de l'été, virevoltant d'un pin à l'autre pour lui arracher ses graines. Il les cachera ensuite en paquets dans le sol, afin de les retrouver à la mauvaise saison. Le casse-noix est capable de mémoriser plusieurs centaines de ces cachettes et de les retrouver sous la neige. Les très rares caches qui auront été oubliées, fourniront peut-être de nouveaux petits pins cembro. Ce dernier profite grandement de cette association appelée symbiose.
lire la suite
Flore

Le lys martagon

En juin à juillet, au sortir de la forêt, en prenant pied sur l'alpage, vous pourrez trouver une grande plante aux fleurs pourpre. Le lys martagon, espèce rare, colonise les clairières de la zone de combat. Il affectionne des prairies ni trop sèches ni trop humides dites mésophiles. Cette plante autrefois cueillie était menacée. Elle est aujourd'hui hors de danger mais demandera, comme d'autres espèces, beaucoup de respect de votre part.
lire la suite
Pastoralisme

La déprise agricole

Vous remarquerez de part et d'autre du sentier vers la randolière de multiples petits pins cembro, s'installant au milieu des pâturages. Si tout le versant était autrefois pâturé et fauché, la disparition progressive des petites exploitations agricoles et le changement des pratiques ont favorisé la recolonisation du milieu par cette espèce forestière. À terme, si l'agriculture venait à disparaître, c'est en forêt que vous vous trouveriez. La perte de ces herbages entraînera une diminution de la biodiversité.
lire la suite
Point de vue

Les lacs de barrage d'Aussois

Derrière vous en contrebas vous pourrez observer les lacs des barrages d'Aussois. Le Plan d'Amont se fera remarquer par sa couleur turquoise, il n'est alimenté que par la fonte des neiges et de clairs ruisseaux. À l'aval, ce sont les glaciers de la Vanoise qui alimentent le lac grâce à 19 km de galeries souterraines venant du Doron de Termignon. L'eau y est chargée en « farines » glaciaires, fines particules minérales arrachées à la montagne. C'est elle qui donne cette couleur grise et laiteuse au Plan d'Aval.
lire la suite
Faune

Le monticole de roche

Cet oiseau aux couleurs vives ne s'est pas échappé d'une jardinerie. Même si le monticole de roche passe l'hiver en Afrique subsaharienne, il fréquente régulièrement les versants rocheux, secs et ensoleillés de nos montagnes pour venir se reproduire. S'il peut se nourrir de petits lézards et de graines ou fruits, il profitera surtout de l'abondance d'insectes variés. À la fin de l'été il regagnera ses zones d'hivernage. Le monticole de roche est un oiseau en régression en France depuis plusieurs année avec environ 1500 couples nicheurs seulement pour la France. Ce serait donc un événement que de l'observer, ouvrez l'œil.
lire la suite
Flore

Le silène acaule

Ce coussin ponctué de fleurs roses éclatantes n'est pas une mousse. Le silène acaule est un des champions de l'adaptation au pire. La forme en coussinet lui permet de  réduire les écarts de températures diurnes et nocturnes qui peuvent être important à ces altitudes. L'humidité sera également prisonnière de ce chevelu de tiges et de petites feuilles. Le silène acaule (Silène acaulis) trouvera dans ses anciennes feuilles décomposées des matières nutritives qui lui permettront de pousser et fleurir. Une racine en pivot au cœur du coussinet lui permettra de s'accrocher aux terrains les plus abrupts.
lire la suite
Faune

Le lièvre variable

Surnommé blanchot ou blanchon, il possède un pelage d'été brun rocaille, et un pelage d'hiver tout blanc à l'exception de la pointe de ses oreilles. Plus petit, et plus rond que le lièvre d'Europe, le lièvre variable a également des oreilles plus courtes et un poil plus épais pour limiter les déperditions de chaleur. Ses pattes postérieures plus larges, font office de raquettes à neige, lui permettant ainsi  de se déplacer facilement sur la neige.
lire la suite
Flore

La renouée vivipare

Au milieu des sables et des rochers, une tige chargé de petites fleurs blanches apparaît. Ici pousse la renouée vivipare. Certaines plantes germent et se développent dans le fruit alors que celui-ci est toujours accroché à la plante-mère. Ce phénomène correspond à la viviparité végétale. En examinant la renouée, vous observerez de petits bulbes verts accrochés à la tige. Les fruits de la renouée vivipare commencent donc à germer sur la plante. Les graines de la renouée constituent un mets de choix pour le lagopède alpin.
lire la suite
Géologie

Le dallage nival

Recherchez autour de vous les endroits plats et humides, sans végétation. Vous remarquez sans doute ces dalles de rocher qui semblent triées et patiemment rangées les unes contres les autres. L'homme n'est pas responsable de cette agencement géométrique. Ici, les alternances de gel et de dégel, le poids de la neige favorisent le transport des pierres et leur alignement : on parle de dallage nival. Dans d'autres cas, ces phénomènes pourront créer des sols polygonaux ou des cercles de pierre.
lire la suite
Géologie

Les comblements de zone humide

En descendant du lac, vous remarquerez des étendues enherbées et plates. L'ancien glacier avait creusé des dépressions dans le socle rocheux. Lorsque les glaces se sont retirées, ces zones sont devenues lacs. À la manière du lac du Génépy, les alluvions ont comblés ces dépressions, les végétaux hygrophiles ont ensuite colonisé ces milieux humides. Certaines de ces zones se sont ensuite asséchées pour devenir des petits plateaux herbeux au milieu de la 'rochaille'.
lire la suite
Flore

Le saule herbacé

Peut être avez vous piétiné inconsciemment ses petites feuilles ovales, vertes et luisantes ? Tel Gargantua, vous marchiez sur une forêt ! Le saule herbacé (Salix herbacea) est le plus petit arbre du monde. Comme d'autres saules, ses fleurs se réuniront en chaton, couvrant ainsi, en juillet et août, les rocs d'une fine couche cotonneuse. Les fleurs mâles et les fleurs femelles sont sur des pieds différents.
lire la suite
Faune

Le lagopède alpin

Le lagopède alpin, également appelé perdrix des neiges est un oiseau artico-alpin. En effet, son aire de présence a suivi la fonte des glaciers préhistorique vers le nord de l'Europe et en altitude. Dans les Alpes, on ne le trouve qu'au dessus de 2300 m d'altitude. Afin d'échapper à ses prédateurs, le lagopède devient  blanc en hiver et prendra en été un plumage proche des rocailles et pelouses rases qu'il affectionne. Cet oiseau étant principalement marcheur, l'évolution a recouvert ses doigts de plumes pour éviter les pertes de chaleur et lui permettre de progresser sur la neige : le lagopède a des raquettes.
lire la suite
Géologie

Le lac du Génépy et sa moraine

Si vous pensiez découvrir une étendue d'eau claire en arrivant au lac, vous allez être surpris. Le lac du Génépy est un lac glaciaire. Le glacier de Labby, à la fin du petit âge glaciaire (1550-1850) a laissé une moraine en rive droite du lac. Une moraine est une accumulation de cailloux transportés sur le front du glacier et laissés en place lors de son retrait. Le glacier surcreuse la roche devant la moraine. Les eaux de fonte du glacier prennent place dans ce bassin : le lac du Génépy est né. Les particules minérales très fines que vous pourrez toucher sur les rives du lac comblent peu à peu le lac et lui donnent sa couleur laiteuse.
lire la suite
Petit patrimoine

La cabane de Labby

Le Parc national de la Vanoise est arpenté en toutes saisons par les gardes-moniteurs. Ils collectent ainsi les données indispensables à la connaissance sur la flore et la faune, surveillent le territoire, accueillent et renseignent les randonneurs. Pour ces missions, les agents du Parc peuvent compter sur un réseau de cabanes de surveillance disséminées dans le cœur du parc. Vous avez en face de vous l'une d'elle : la cabane de Labby
lire la suite
Géologie

Le fond d'Aussois

Lorsque vous entamez la raide descente vers le Fond d'Aussois, regardez ici cet exemple d'ombilic glaciaire à grande échelle. Imaginez un instant le glacier descendant du col d'Aussois : son écoulement est ralenti par le rétrécissement de la vallée, augmentant encore son pouvoir d'érosion. Une dépression se crée à l'amont. Lors de la fonte des glaces, un lac se crée puis se comble en accumulant des alluvions fluvio-lacustres. Une fois totalement comblé, l'emplacement du lac est occupé par une plaine très plane où s'écoule paisiblement aujourd'hui le torrent du Saint Benoit.
lire la suite
Géologie

Ombilic de Fond d'Aussois

Un ombilic glaciaire est le nom donné à la partie surcreusée d'une vallée glaciaire. Après le retrait du glacier, cette dépression est généralement occupée par un lac de taille variable qui se comble peu à peu par des alluvions fluvio-lacustres jusqu'à former un plateau. Ici, certaines zones gardent un caractère de marais avec des plantes caractéristiques comme la swertie des marais. Ces pâturages riches et plats ont toujours été appréciés pour l'élevage comme en témoigne la présence d'anciens chalets d'alpage.
lire la suite
Faune

Les marmottes

Animal de la famille de l'écureuil, les marmottes occupent le plateau en petits groupes familiaux. Vous pourrez les observer en train de se nourrir car, habituées au passage de randonneurs, elles sont ici peu craintives. Vous pourrez entendre résonner dans la montagne ses cris stridents qui lui permettent d'avertir ses congénères de la présence d'un éventuel prédateur. Les marmottons naissent en juin à l'abri du terrier familial et ce n'est que début juillet que vous pourrez les observer.
lire la suite
Petit patrimoine

Le Parc national de la Vanoise

« Voici l'espace. Voici l'air pur. Voici le silence. Le royaume des aurores intactes et des bêtes naïves... » C'est avec ces mots que Samivel écrivait les commandements du Parc national à sa création en 1963. Vous entrez dans un espace protégé, « le grand jardin des français », qu'il vous appartient de respecter. La réglementation figure sur les différents panneaux mis à l'intention des randonneurs.
lire la suite
Flore

La cembraie

La cembraie est constituée du pin cembro (ou arolle). Son bois dur est utilisé en ébénisterie. Ses aiguilles longues et groupées par cinq le rendent facilement reconnaissable. Les montagnards consomment ses cônes ou ses graines, concurrençant ainsi le casse-noix moucheté. Le pin cembro grimpe jusqu'à 2300 m d'altitude et affectionne les terrains acides et des orientations variées. Associé au rhododendron, aux myrtilles et aux airelles, il constitue, dans l'étagement montagnard, la « zone de combat ».
lire la suite
Architecture

Le barrage de Plan d'Amont

Construit à l'issue de la seconde guerre mondiale pour subvenir aux besoins énergétiques du pays, ses eaux claires recouvrent un vallon anciennement utilisé pour l'agropastoralisme. Avec le barrage de Plan d'Aval, il devait constituer à l'origine un ensemble de trois barrages qui aurait dû ennoyer le vallon de Fond d'Aussois. La construction des deux barrages a nécessité la création d'une carrière d'extraction de matériaux, devenue l'actuel parking. Ces sites renferment un vaste réseau souterrain de conduites d'eau.
lire la suite
Flore

La rhodoraie

Cet arbuste pare la montagne de ses plus belles couleurs dès le milieu du mois de juin jusqu'à la fin du mois de juillet. Rhododendron signifie en grec l'arbre rouge et son qualificatif ferrugineux vient de la couleur rouille du dessous de ses feuilles. Le rhododendron ne se plaît que dans les versants où la neige perdure, lui offrant ainsi une protection contre le gel.
lire la suite

Description

Du parking, suivre l'itinéraire du refuge de la dent Parrachée. Derrière ce dernier, le sentier est indiqué par les panneaux jaunes du Parc national. Suivre la direction « Lac du Génépy ». Après 30 min environ, franchir la passerelle et poursuivre le sentier jusqu'au lac. Pour le retour, suivre le même chemin. Juste avant le refuge de la dent Parrachée, prendre à droite en direction du Fond d'Aussois. Attention, après 300 m, un court passage exposé demande vigilance. Suivre le sentier jusqu'à une passerelle que l'on laisse sur sa droite et continuer vers le sud jusqu'à l'intersection du GR5. Prendre alors à droite et descendre vers le pont qu'il faut traverser, suivre la direction d'Aussois enfin, jusqu'au barrage de Plan d'Amont d'où l'on rejoint le parking.
Départ : Site des barrages, commune d'Aussois.
Arrivée : Site des barrages, commune d'Aussois.
Communes traversées : AUSSOIS

Profil altimétrique


Recommandations

Itinéraire de haute montagne à préparer en amont. Équipements et chaussures adéquats, prévoir une carte IGN pour se guider. La météo en montagne peut évoluer très vite et doit inciter à faire demi-tour si le temps se gâte.
En coeur de parc
Le Parc national est un territoire naturel, ouvert à tous, mais soumis à une réglementation qu’il est utile de connaître pour préparer son séjour

Lieux de renseignement

Bureau d'Information Touristique d'Aussois

43 route des Barrages<br>73500 Aussois,

http://www.aussois.com

info@aussois.com

04 79 20 30 80

Votre bureau d’information touristique situé à la maison d’Aussois se transforme…
Cet automne retrouvez nous au centre du village (près de l’Eglise) !
Nous vous proposons des services : information, coin enfants, billets de car et excursions, plan sentiers de randonnée et raquettes, VTT, carte de pêche. Wifi gratuit. Vente du baluchon servant à la Promenade savoyarde de découverte du fort Victor-Emmanuel à l'Esseillon et de la bande-dessinée sur les forts.
Ouverture:
Du 01/07 au 01/09/2017, tous les jours.
Ouvert tous les jours de 9h à 12h et de 14h à 17h45.

Du 04/09 au 22/12/2017.
Fermé samedi et dimanche.
Lu>Ve 9h-12h/14h-17h
Fermeture exceptionnelle vendredi 1er décembre de 9h à 12h.

Du 23/12/2017 au 20/04/2018, tous les jours.
9h-12h30/13h30-18h.

Services:
Animaux acceptés, Vente de cartes de pêche, Accès Internet Wifi

Accès:
Office de tourisme à l'intérieur de la Maison d'Aussois, au pied des remontées mécaniques.

Fiche mise à jour par Haute Maurienne Vanoise Tourisme le 29/11/2017
En savoir plus

Point Info Tourisme Modane

Maison Cantonale<br>9 Place Sommeiller<br>73500 Modane,

http://www.cchautemaurienne.com/

info@cchmv.fr

04 79 05 26 67

Accueil de la clientèle touristique, toute saison. Renseignement, distribution de brochures, vente de produits touristiques.
Ouverture:
Toute l'année.
Fermetures exceptionnelles les jours fériés.

Services:
Animaux acceptés, Accès Internet Wifi, Location de VTT à assistance électrique

Fiche mise à jour par Haute Maurienne Vanoise Tourisme le 17/11/2017
En savoir plus

Point info Vanoise de Modane

Maison cantonale - Place sommeiller<br>73500 Modane,

04 79 05 57 94

Point d'information estival sur le parc national de la Vanoise.
Ouverture:
Du 22/06 au 07/09/2018 de 9h30 à 18h30.
Fermeture de 12h30 à 14h30.

Accès:
Accueil dans la maison cantonale de Modane

Fiche mise à jour par Parc National de la Vanoise le 18/10/2017
En savoir plus

Transport

Desserte ferroviaire jusqu'à Modane. Renseignements : www.voyages-sncf.com
Puis transport en autocar jusqu'au chef-lieu d'Aussois. Renseignements : savoie.transdev.com
Pas de transport collectif entre Aussois et le site des barrages.
Proposition d'auto-stop organisé sur la vallée de Haute-Maurienne. Renseignements : www.rezopouce.fr

Accès routiers et parkings

À Modane, prendre la D 215 en direction d'Aussois. Parvenu à Aussois, se rendre dans le haut du village et prendre la petite route qui s'élève vers les barrages. Laisser un belvédère sur la gauche, prendre un route raide à droite sur 100 m pour rejoindre le parking de la carrière.

Stationnement :

Parking prévu par la municipalité pour l'intégralité du site des barrages, départ de toutes les randonnées.

Accessibilité

Le parking terminal est aménagé mais au-delà le sentier décrit dans cette fiche n'est pas aménagé
Numéro de secours :
114

Signaler un problème ou une erreur

Vous avez repéré une erreur sur cette page ou constaté un problème lors de votre randonnée, signalez-les nous ici :