Les Lacs du Chardonnet et l'Aiguille Percée
>>
Home
>
Mountain bike (electric)
>
Les Lacs du Chardonnet et l'Aiguille Percée
TIGNES

Les Lacs du Chardonnet et l'Aiguille Percée

Architecture
History
Lake and glacier
Summit
Embed this item to access it offline
Take to the skies above Tignes and discover the majestic peaks of the Vanoise Massif.
A route packed with contrasts, where you can get a true taste of wild landscapes without straying too far from the Tignes resort,. On the programme: seek out your reflection in the Chardonnet Lakes’ crystal-clear waters, listen to the woodchucks whistling in the alpine pastures and admire the unobstructed view of the surrounding mountain peaks.

9 points of interest
Summit

Tignes’ Great Ladies

Linger on the lakeshore awhile and look up at the mountain peaks around you… Magnificent, aren’t they? Can you recognise Tignes’ three” Great Ladies”?
You can make out the Grande Motte (3,653 metres), famous for its glacier (and incidentally the resort’s logo) and its neighbour the Grande Casse (3,855 metres) with its ridgeline and much more precipitous walls. And behind you, the Grande Sassière, France’s highest peak, is accessible in the summer with no need for climbing equipment: a hike that will take you 3,747 metres above sea level!

read more
Water

Tignes Lake

Frozen over in winter (you can cross it on foot!), Tignes’ natural lake turns itself into a playground in the summertime, ideal for sportspeople, families, fishermen and food lovers… On no account to be missed: Acroland, the watersports centre’s most mind-blowing facility! Equipped with wetsuit, helmet and lifejacket, thrill-seekers slide down the 7 hot-jumping tramps on their backs, bellies, bodyboards or inflatable buoys… before finally plunging into the lake. A refreshing spectacle indeed!
read more
Architecture

Europe’s highest 18-hole golf course

This highly unusual golf course, Europe’s highest 18-holer, provides outstanding views of the Grande Motte’s glacier, the shimmering waters of Tignes Lake and the surrounding mountains, along its 5 km of fairway. An out-of-the ordinary experience, with players fine-tuning their swing among the woodchucks, who have appointed themselves the course’s guardians!
read more
Architecture

Michel Faugère Stadium

At 2,160 metres above sea level, this is Europe’s highest football and rugby ground. You may well be lucky enough to catch a glimpse of some of the world’s top teams there.
read more
Fauna

The common hawker

Thanks to a stop near the Lac du Chardonnet, you may be able to see the common hawker flitting about. The exclusively aquatic larva of this dragonfly takes nearly 3 years to reach maturity. It emerges from the water and sheds its skin to become a flying adult whose short life (a few weeks) is devoted to reproduction. With nearly 100 species, France has the greatest wealth of dragonflies in Europe.
read more
Water

Chardonnet Lakes

Their cold clear waters served as a setting for the film "The Big Blue"!
read more
Architecture

Protection of the ski area, roads and buildings

A range of more or less discreet fixtures ensure that the ski area, roads and people are kept safe. Among the most visible from the resort are the avalanche barriers. Set along a contour line, they are designed to hold back accumulations of snow. During your walks, you’ll probably see one or more large metal pipes. They’re part of the Gazex avalanche control system, which has the advantage of being able to secure hard-to-reach areas and can be triggered remotely.
read more
Summit

The Aiguille Percée

At 2,778 metres above sea level, this spectacular natural arch, Tignes’ most photographed geological curiosity, watches over the Tignes-Champagny Nature Reserve with admirable finesse.
The hike from Tignes Lake to the Aiguille is a great classic, with an orientation table not to be missed out on. A loop trail of around 9 km with a 700-metre elevation gain – a 3½-hour walk. Joining the trail at the Palafour Chairlift arrival cuts 1¼ hours off the time required.

read more
History

The Olympic Flame

In 1992, on the occasion of the Albertville Winter Olympics, Tignes hosted the three acrobatic skiing events: ski-acro (or ski ballet), freestyle skiing and the Games’ first mogul skiing event. There are still traces of the resort’s Olympic past to be seen, including the Olympic Flame’s cauldron to the left of the Palafour chairlift and the ski-acro and freestyle skiing pistes in the Tignes Val Claret sector. And the resort’s Olympic adventure continues today: Tignes’ candidacy was officially selected by Paris 2024 as one of the preparation centres for athletes who will be competing in the next Summer Olympics and Paralympics. A source of great pride for the resort, which has always hosted top national and international teams!
read more

Description

Departing from Tignes le Lac, just a step or two away from the Albertville ’92 Winter Olympics’ cauldron of the Olympic Flame, the route takes you along the shores of Tignes Lake to the Michel Faugère Stadium, where you may be lucky enough to catch a glimpse of some of the world’s top international teams training. With a little help from your e-bike, make your way up to the alpine pastures and high mountain Chardonnet Lakes. Take the time to admire the view of the Aiguille Percée (the Eye of the Needle), a geological curiosity well-known to hikers and skiers, before returning to your departure point down the “Smoothie" mountain-bike trail (green level).

Waymarking to follow : Chardon'Up

To rent e-bike :

Yab Sports
04 79 09 19 01
Avenue de Grande Motte Immeuble le Diva
VAL CLARET - Grande Motte (bas)

Jubike Sport 2000
04 79 06 40 23
Les Hauts du Val Claret Place du Curling
Centre (haut)

Ski One
04 79 06 37 12
Le Sefcotel
Centre (haut)

Skimium Duch Sports
04 79 06 30 27
Rue de la Poste Callet Millonex - Chemin de Crouze
Immeuble Le Bec Rouge
Tignes le Lac

Departure : Tignes le Lac Place centrale – Palafour Chairlift
Arrival : Tignes le Lac Place centrale – Palafour Chairlift
Towns crossed : TIGNES

Altimetric profile


Recommandations

Rando Vanoise has been designed to help you pick and choose your outings, but cannot be held liable where they are concerned. The mountain offers up a wide range of routes and trails for cyclists of all levels, but remember, it is a living, unpredictable environment and it is important that you head out suitably equipped. Ask advice from cycle rental operators.
If in doubt, you can take an introductory lesson in how to ride an electric bike with an instructor.

If you see a herd ahead, slow down and go round it. If there is a
patou, a guard dog, climb down from your bike and walk, pushing it alongside you. Avoid making any sudden or aggressive gestures towards the dog and move away from the herd slowly and calmly. The dog will only be checking that you do not pose a threat to its herd. Respect the parkland and close gates behind you after you've gone through them.

The mountain is living, please respect it by staying on the paths and tracks.

Transport

Train services run as far as Bourg-Saint-Maurice.
Find out more at: www.oui.sncf.com
You can then get a coach to Tignes.
Find out more at www.transavoie.com
Have you also thought about car-sharing? www.mobisavoie.fr


Access and parking

Take the RD 902 and RD87a, towards Tignes.
Parking : Parking du lac 3, Tignes le Lac

Parking :

Parking Le lac 3

Report a problem or an error

If you have found an error on this page or if you have noticed any problems during your hike, please report them to us here:

Les Lacs du Chardonnet et l'Aiguille Percée
>>
Accueil
>
VTT
>
Les Lacs du Chardonnet et l'Aiguille Percée
TIGNES

Les Lacs du Chardonnet et l'Aiguille Percée

Architecture
Histoire
Lac et glacier
Sommet
Embarquer cet élément afin d'y avoir accès hors connexion
Prenez de la hauteur au dessus de Tignes pour découvrir les majestueux sommets de Vanoise.

Un parcours tout en contrastes, où sans pour autant vous éloigner de la station de Tignes vous pourrez goûter aux paysages sauvages. Au programme, vous pourrez chercher votre reflet dans les eaux cristallines des lacs du chardonnet, entendre quelques marmottes dans les alpages et admirer la vue dégagée sur les sommets alentour.


Les 10 patrimoines à découvrir
Sommet

Les Grandes Dames de Tignes

Au bord du lac, prenez un instant pour lever les yeux vers les sommets qui vous entourent… Magnifiques n’est-ce pas ? Saurez-vous reconnaitre les trois « Grandes Dames » de Tignes ?
Vous pourrez distinguer la Grande Motte (3653 m), célèbre par son glacier (et accessoirement logo de la station), et sa voisine la Grande Casse (3855 m) avec sa ligne de crête et ses parois beaucoup plus abruptes. Derrière vous, la Grande Sassière, qui est le sommet le plus haut de France accessible sans matériel en été : une randonnée qui vous amènera à 3747 m d’altitude !

lire la suite
Histoire

Station de Tignes

Station de 30 000 lits touristiques, Tignes est relié à Val d'Isère par remontées mécaniques depuis 1970. Contrairement à Val d'Isère la station de Tignes ne s'est pas construite autour de son village, à cause de la mise en eau du barrage qui a noyé son village originel en 1952. 

La commune a choisi d'aménager entièrement une station à 2100m d'altitude. Créée de toute pièce, elle suit le modèle des stations "intégrées" qui se développe avec le "plan neige" dans les années 1960.

lire la suite
Eau

Lac de Tignes

Gelé en hiver (on le traverse à pied !), le lac naturel de Tignes se transforme en été en un terrain de jeu idéal pour les sportifs, les familles, les pêcheurs, les gourmands… À ne pas manquer : l'acroland, soit LE spot le plus décoiffant de la base nautique ! Équipé d’une combinaison, d’un casque et d’un gilet de sauvetage, les amateurs de laissent glisser sur le dos, à plat ventre, sur un bodyboard ou en bouée gonflable sur les 7 rampes de hot jumping… avant de plonger dans le lac. Un spectacle rafraîchissant !
lire la suite
Architecture

Le golf 18 trous le + haut d'Europe

Ce golf atypique, plus haut 18 trous d’Europe, offre des points de vue exceptionnels sur le glacier de la Grande Motte, le lac de Tignes aux couleurs chatoyantes et les montagnes environnantes sur ses 5 km de fairway. Insolite : les joueurs peaufinent leur swing au beau milieu des marmottes, véritables gardiennes des lieux !
lire la suite
Architecture

Stade Michel Faugère

A 2160 m d’altitude, c’est le plus haut terrain de foot et de rugby d’Europe. Vous aurez peut-être le plaisir d'y observer les plus grandes équipes internationales.
lire la suite
Faune

L'aeschne des joncs

À la faveur d'une halte près du lac du Chardonnet, peut-être pourrez-vous voir virevolter l'aeschne des joncs. La larve de cette libellule, exclusivement aquatique, va mettre près de 3 ans pour arriver à maturité. Elle sort de l'eau et mue pour devenir un adulte volant dont la courte vie (quelques semaines) est consacrée à la reproduction. Avec près de 100 espèces, la France possède la plus grande richesse en libellules d'Europe.
lire la suite
Eau

Lacs du Chardonnet

Leurs eaux froides et limpides ont servi de décor au film Le Grand Bleu !
lire la suite
Architecture

Protections du domaine skiable, de la route et des habitations

De manière plus ou moins discrète, différents dispositifs assurent la sécurisation du domaine skiable, de la route et des personnes. Parmi les plus visibles depuis la station, les râteliers paravalanches. Disposés le long d’une ligne de niveau, ils ont pour but de retenir les cumuls de neige. Au cours de vos balades, vous apercevrez très probablement de gros tuyaux métalliques : les GAZEX. Ce sont des déclencheurs d’avalanches, ils ont l’avantage de pouvoir sécuriser des endroits difficiles d’accès et d’être déclenchables à distance.
lire la suite
Sommet

L’Aiguille Percée

A 2778m d'altitude, cette arche naturelle spectaculaire, curiosité géologique la plus photographiée de Tignes, surplombe avec finesse la Réserve Naturelle de Tignes - Champagny.
Depuis le lac de Tignes, la balade vers l'Aiguille est une grande classique, avec une table d’orientation à ne pas manquer. Boucle d'environ 9km et 700 m de dénivelé positif - 3h30 de marche. L'accès au sentier depuis l'arrivée du télésiège de Palafour permet de diminuer le temps de marche de 1h15.

lire la suite
Histoire

La flamme olympique

En 1992, à l’occasion des Jeux Olympiques d’hiver d’Albertville, Tignes accueille les trois épreuves de ski acrobatique : l’acroski (ou ballet), le saut acrobatique et l’épreuve inédite du ski de bosses. Certaines traces demeurent de cet accueil olympique, comme la vasque de la flamme visible à gauche du télésiège Palafour ou encore les pistes d’acroski et de saut acrobatique sur le secteur de Tignes Val Claret. Aujourd’hui, l’aventure Olympique se poursuit : la candidature de Tignes a été officiellement retenue par Paris 2024 dans le cadre de la sélection des centres de préparation officiels des athlètes qui participeront aux prochains Jeux Olympiques et Paralympiques d’été. Une grande fierté pour la station, qui accueille depuis toujours les plus grandes équipes nationales et internationales !
lire la suite

Description

Au départ de Tignes le Lac, à deux pas de la vasque de la flamme olympique des Jeux d’Albertville de 1992, le parcours vous emmène le long des rives du lac de Tignes jusqu’au stade Michel Faugère, où vous aurez peut-être la chance de voir s’entraîner les plus grandes équipes internationales. Aidé de l’assistance électrique de votre vélo, rejoignez alors les alpages et les lacs d’altitude du Chardonnet. Profitez-en pour admirer la vue sur l’Aiguille Percée, curiosité géologique bien connue des randonneurs et des skieurs, avant de rejoindre votre point de départ par la piste de VTT de descente Smoothie (niveau vert).

Suivre le balisage rouge Chardon'Up

Vos loueurs de VAE les plus proches :
Yab Sports
04 79 09 19 01
Avenue de Grande Motte Immeuble le Diva
VAL CLARET - Grande Motte (bas)

Jubike Sport 2000
04 79 06 40 23
Les Hauts du Val Claret Place du Curling
Centre (haut)

Ski One
04 79 06 37 12
Le Sefcotel
Centre (haut)

Skimium Duch Sports
04 79 06 30 27
Rue de la Poste Callet Millonex - Chemin de Crouze
Immeuble Le Bec Rouge
Tignes le Lac

Départ : Tignes le Lac Place centrale – Télésiège de Palafour
Arrivée : Tignes le Lac Place centrale – Télésiège de Palafour
Communes traversées : TIGNES

Profil altimétrique


Recommandations

Rando Vanoise a vocation à vous aider dans le choix de vos sorties mais se dégage de toute responsabilité les concernant. La montagne offre des itinéraires variés pour tous les niveaux de cyclistes mais elle reste un milieu aléatoire et demande à être pratiquée avec un équipement adapté. Renseignez-vous auprès des loueurs de vélos.
En cas de doute, les moniteurs peuvent vous initier à la pratique du vélo à assistance électrique.

A l’approche d’un troupeau, ralentissez et contournez-le.
Si un patou, chien de protection, est présent : descendez du vélo et marchez à côté, évitez les gestes brusques ou agressifs envers le chien, éloignez-vous progressivement et calmement du troupeau. Le chien vérifie seulement que vous n’êtes pas une menace pour son troupeau. Respectez les parcs et refermez les clôtures après votre passage.

La montagne est vivante, respectez-la, merci de rester sur les chemins.

Transport

Desserte ferroviaire jusque Bourg-Saint-Maurice.
Renseignements : www.oui.sncf.com
Puis transports en autocars jusqu'à Tignes.
Renseignements :www.transavoie.com
Pensez également co-voiturage avec www.mobisavoie.fr


Accès routiers et parkings

RD 902 puis RD 87a, direction « Tignes »
Stationnement : Parking du lac 3, Tignes leLac

Stationnement :

Parking Le lac 3

Signaler un problème ou une erreur

Vous avez repéré une erreur sur cette page ou constaté un problème lors de votre randonnée, signalez-les nous ici :