Refuge de Turia
>>
Home
>
Walking hike
>
Refuge de Turia
VILLAROGER

Refuge de Turia

Fauna
Pastoralism
Refuge
Embed this item to access it offline

A short day’s hike where a welcoming refuge and a view of Mont Blanc await you in reward.

Sheer slope, typical mountain village dominated by inaccessible glaciers which seem to touch the sky... A route full of personality, at the gates of the high mountain.
High above, there nestles a charmingly unspoilt refuge, barely disturbed by the silent flight of the golden eagle.
Christian Balais, Vanoise National Park ranger


11 points of interest
Viewpoint

Balcony overlooking Mont Blanc

To the north, beyond the summits bordering the right bank of the valley of Col du Petit St Bernard, rises an imposing glacial massif. At a height of 4,810metres, Mont Blanc, the highest mountain in the Alps, looms over the steep Italian slope. Glaciers and rock walls block the horizon in an awe-inspiring, wild landscape which proves difficult to access. It is the domain of the exceedingly high mountain.
read more
Fauna

The spotted nutcracker, guest of the conifer forests.

Amid two trees, an enormous figure passes by discreetly, with a sharp beak, mottled brown plumage and white-striped tail. Then, from the top of a spruce, the spotted nutcracker launches its discordant, raspy cry. This sedentary corvid lives in the coniferous forests where it feeds mainly on coniferous seeds. In the autumn it will bury its provisions although will sometimes forget them.
read more
Flora

Barbs and woodpeckers

"The spruce flourishes on the ubac slope, dominating the hardwoods of the mountain zone. Often wrongly called ""fir"", it is easily identified by its cones which hang under the branches, with needles laid out around the twigs, prickly to the touch, while the tree is supple and soft under the hand. The trunk of the spruce is sometimes bored into by woodpeckers, in search of larvae or to house their brood."
read more
Flora

Martagon lily, pick with your eyes only.

The martagon lily is an icon of the fresh woody slopes and dœs not go unnoticed, reaching one metre in height. At maturity (June-July) its large pink-violet flowers with purple spots have six large hanging stamens, crowned by six rolled up tepals (undifferentiated petals and sepals). Butterflies and other insects gather its pollen with their heads “upside down”. It is said that the alchemists who used this plant, under the aegis of the God Mars, gave this lily the name of martagon.
read more
History

Cousset and Fenil: forgotten alpine pastures

On fine summer days, some of the renovated chalets still welcome the inhabitants of Gurraz and Savinaz. These former dwelling houses testify to a bygone agropastoral past, a time when all mountain acres, even the more difficult to access, were farmed. The hay was harvested and then stored on site before being taken down on wooden sledges. This was tough and intense work but essential for feeding the cattle in the winter.
read more
Flora

The black grouse and forest boundary

"As the altitude increases, vegetation must adapt to the harsh climate conditions. The constraints become such that the growth of trees is no longer possible. Only a few conifers and stunted birches survive, before long replaced by shrubs and then an alpine moor. Between forest areas and alpine meadows, this ecological environment, known as the ""forest boundary"", is home to the black grouse or black cock, which provides the food and tranquillity necessary for its survival."
read more
Flora

Heather moors and alpine clubmoss

The alpine moor is home to several species of sub-shrubs. Adapted to the snow-capped slopes, the hardy ferruginous rhododendron bursts with light from the beginning of summer. More fragile in appearance, the foliage of blueberries and cranberries is a tender green, before turning red in autumn. Their blue berries are enjoyed by a variety of fauna, from the fox to the black grouse. Hiding in the heart of this moor is the discreet alpine clubmoss, similar to ferns but with very primitive features.
read more
Fauna

The chamois, a compendium of wild fauna

Nervous and wild, the chamois is remarkably adapted to the mountain terrain, capable of covering 1,000 m of undulating ground in less than fifteen minutes. It occupies a variety of environments: wooded slopes, alpine meadows, screes and névés on which it often comes to cool down during the hot summer afternoons. Outside of the rutting season, in November, the rather solitary males steer clear of the herds of females, young and kids.
read more
Pastoralism

Cowbells in the alpine pasture

"During the summer a flock of transhumant sheep graze on the mountain pasture, near the shelter or on the slopes of the Hauts de Villaroger Nature Reserve. Present from June to October, the sheep and lambs are kept by a shepherd, accompanied by his sheep dogs, Border Collies more often than not, and by a ""Patou"", which is a watchdog and guard dog. The presence of these working dogs is permitted in the heart of the park."
read more
Glacier

The imprint of the glaciers

From the terrace, the view opens onto the glaciers of Fond and Sassière. Still snow white, they are none the less victims of climate change, having receded over the years. As you climb up to the small promontory overlooking the shelter, you can see in the direction of the Grand Col, old heaps of material deposited during the retreat of the ice. These moraines, partially vegetated today, testify to an age when the glaciers were still masters of the landscape.
read more
Refuge

A rustic and friendly refuge

"Perched at 2,410 metres in altitude, the chalet-refuge de Turia showcases its Chaloin-type architecture, which is emblematic of the simple and friendly welcome of the ""small"" refuges of Vanoise built in the 1970s. These quickly assembled wooden refuges combine rusticity, sturdiness and rapid heating. The “bachal” water (trough-shaped water reservoir) is captured under a rocky glacier, several hundred metres away. Inside, the shelter is equipped with a UV filter to purify the water."
read more

Description

"

From Chantel car park, take the vehicle track on the right. About 100 m after 2 successive hairpin bends, the track turns into a trail. After the passage of the Cousset stream, the trail meanders while climbing through the forest. Follow the trail leading to the mountain pastures as far as the hamlet of Cousset, which you then pass. A signpost for ""Cousset 2015 m"" awaits you upstream of the buildings. There is about a 1 hour walk following the trail, with no intersection. To return, follow the trail in the opposite way.

"
Departure : Chantel car park, Hamlet of Gurraz, Villaroger
Arrival : Chantel car park, Hamlet of Gurraz, Villaroger
Towns crossed : VILLAROGER

Altimetric profile


Recommandations

Is in the midst of the park
The national park is an unrestricted natural area but subjected to regulations which must be known by all visitors.

Information desks

Place de la Gare<br>73700 Bourg-Saint-Maurice,

http://www.lesarcs.com

contact@lesarcs.com

04 79 07 12 57


Find out more

Tourist Information Office - Séez

25 rue Célestin Freppaz, 73700 Séez

http://www.otseez.com/

accueil@otseez.com

04 79 41 00 15

Find out more

Transport

"

Rail connection to Bourg-Saint-Maurice. Information: www.voyages-sncf.com
Then transport by coach to the administrative centre of Haute-Tarentaise. Information: www.transavoie.com
Also think about car-sharing with www.mobisavoie.fr

"

Access and parking

On the D902 between Sainte-Foy Tarentaise and the Tignes dam, take the small road in the direction of the village of Gurraz. Cross the hamlet (narrow street) and park at its exit on the right (Parking).

Parking :

Before the last bends climbing up to the village of Gurraz, along the road to the village of Savinaz.

Report a problem or an error

If you have found an error on this page or if you have noticed any problems during your hike, please report them to us here:

Refuge de Turia
>>
Accueil
>
A pied
>
Refuge de Turia
VILLAROGER

Refuge de Turia

Faune
Pastoralisme
Refuge
Embarquer cet élément afin d'y avoir accès hors connexion

Une randonnée pour une petite journée, où un refuge accueillant et une vue sur le Mont-Blanc vous attendent comme récompenses.

Versant austère, authentique village dominé par d’inaccessibles glaciers qui semblent toucher le ciel... Un itinéraire de caractère, aux portes de la haute montagne.
Tout là-haut se niche un refuge au charme intact, à peine troublé par le vol silencieux de l’aigle royal.
Christian Balais, garde-moniteur du Parc national de la Vanoise


Les 12 patrimoines à découvrir
Point de vue

Balcon avec vue sur le Mont-Blanc

Au nord, au-delà des sommets qui bordent la rive droite du vallon du col du Petit St Bernard, s’élève un imposant massif glaciaire. Du haut de ses 4810 mètres d’altitude, le Mont-Blanc, point culminant des Alpes, domine l’abrupt versant italien. Glaciers et parois rocheuses barrent l’horizon en un paysage grandiose, sauvage et difficile d’accès. C’est le domaine de la haute, très haute montagne.
lire la suite
Faune

Le casse-noix moucheté, hôte des forêts de résineux.

Discrètement, entre deux arbres, passe une silhouette massive : bec robuste, plumage brun moucheté et queue barrée de blanc. Puis, de la cime d’un épicéa, le casse-noix moucheté lance son cri discordant, rauque, éraillé. Ce corvidé sédentaire habite les forêts de conifères où il se nourrit essentiellement de graines de résineux, enfouissant à l’automne des provisions que parfois il oubliera.
lire la suite
Flore

Pique et pics

L’épicéa s’épanouit sur ce versant d’ubac, dominant les feuillus de l’étage montagnard. Souvent appelé « sapin », à tort, il est aisément identifiable à ses cônes qui pendent sous les branches, aux aiguilles disposées tout autour des rameaux, piquantes au toucher, alors que le sapin se fait souple et doux sous la main. Le tronc de l’épicéa est parfois foré par les pics, à la recherche de larves ou pour y loger leur couvée.
lire la suite
Flore

Lis martagon, à cueillir avec les yeux.

Plante emblématique des pentes boisées fraîches, le lis martagon ne passe pas inaperçu, pouvant atteindre un mètre de hauteur. À maturité, (juin-juillet) ses grandes fleurs roses-violacées ponctuées de pourpre laissent pendre six étamines imposantes, surmontées de six tépales (pétales et sépales indifférenciés) retroussés. Papillons et autres insectes viennent y butiner, la « tête à l’envers ». Utilisant cette plante, les alchimistes, sous l’égide du Dieu Mars, auraient donné à ce lis le nom de martagon.
lire la suite
Histoire

Cousset et Fenil : des alpages oubliés

Aux beaux jours de l’été, quelques chalets en partie rénovés accueillent encore les habitants de la Gurraz et de la Savinaz, Ces anciennes habitations d’estive témoignent d’un passé agropastoral révolu, une époque où tous les arpents de montagne, même les plus difficiles d’accès, étaient exploités. On y récoltait le foin qui était entreposé sur place avant d’être descendu sur des luges en bois. Une activité rude et intense, mais indispensable pour pouvoir nourrir le bétail en hiver.
lire la suite
Flore

Tétras-lyre et zone de combat

Au fil de l’altitude, la végétation doit s’adapter aux rigueurs climatiques. Les contraintes deviennent telles que la croissance des arbres n’est plus possible. Seuls vont subsister quelques conifères et des bouleaux aux formes rabougries, bientôt remplacés par des arbustes puis une lande alpine. Entre zones forestières et pelouses alpines, ce milieu écologique appelé « zone de combat » abrite le tétras-lyre, ou petit coq de bruyère, qui y trouve nourriture et tranquillité nécessaires à sa survie.
lire la suite
Flore

Landes à éricacées et lycopode des Alpes

La lande alpine abrite plusieurs espèces de sous-arbrisseaux. Adapté aux versants longtemps enneigés, le robuste rhododendron ferrugineux éclate de lumière dès le début de l’été. D’aspect plus fragile, le feuillage des myrtilles et airelles affiche des tendresses de verts, avant de virer aux rouges à l’automne. Leurs baies bleues font le régal d’une faune variée, du renard au tétras-lyre. Au cœur de cette lande, se cache parfois le discret lycopode alpin, plante proche des fougères, aux caractères très primitifs.
lire la suite
Faune

Le chamois, un condensé de faune sauvage

Nerveux et farouche, le chamois est remarquablement adapté au terrain montagnard, capable de gagner 1000 m de dénivelé en moins de quinze minutes. Il occupe des milieux variés : pentes boisés, pelouses alpines, pierriers et névés sur lesquels il se rafraîchit souvent aux heures chaudes de l’été. En dehors de la période du rut, en novembre, les mâles, plutôt solitaires, restent à l’écart des hardes de femelles, de jeunes et de cabris.
lire la suite
Pastoralisme

Sonnailles en alpage

Au cours de l’été un troupeau de moutons transhumants pâture en alpage, près du refuge ou dans les versants de la Réserve Naturelle des Hauts de Villaroger. Présents de juin à octobre, brebis et agneaux sont gardés par un berger, accompagné de ses chiens de conduite, des Border Collie la plupart du temps, et par un « Patou », chien de garde et de protection. La présence de ces chiens de travail est autorisée dans le cœur du parc.
lire la suite
Faune

Le lagopède alpin

L’espèce affectionne les milieux composés de pelouses rases et d’éboulis, comme ceux que vous pouvez observer au sud du refuge de Turia. Cet oiseau, appelé aussi perdrix des neiges, est particulièrement adapté aux rigueurs de la haute altitude où il demeure l’hiver, se laissant ensevelir sous la neige dans un igloo provisoire lors des périodes de mauvais temps. Champion du camouflage, son plumage gris brun finement barré en été devient blanc en hiver le rendant peu visible des prédateurs
lire la suite
Glacier

L’empreinte des glaciers

Depuis la terrasse, la vue s’ouvre sur les glaciers du Fond et de la Sassière. Encore habillés de blanc, ils n’en sont pas moins victimes du changement climatique, reculant au fil des années. Quand on grimpe jusqu’au petit promontoire qui domine le refuge, on aperçoit, en direction du Grand Col, d’anciens amoncellements de matériaux déposés lors du retrait des glaces. Ces moraines, partiellement  végétalisées aujourd’hui, témoignent d’un âge où les glaciers étaient encore maîtres du paysage.
lire la suite
Refuge

Un refuge rustique et convivial

Perché à 2410 mètres d’altitude, le chalet-refuge de Turia affiche son architecture de type Chaloin, devenue emblématique de l’accueil simple et convivial des « petits » refuges de Vanoise bâtis dans les années 1970. Rapidement montés, ces refuges en bois  allient rusticité, robustesse et mise en chauffe rapide. L’eau du bachal est captée sous un glacier rocheux, à plusieurs centaines de mètres de distance. À l’intérieur, le refuge est équipé d’un filtre UV pour purifier l’eau.
lire la suite

Description

Depuis le parking du Chantel, prendre la piste carrossable de droite. Environ 100 m après 2 épingles successives, la piste se transforme en sentier. Après le passage du ruisseau du Cousset, le sentier serpente en grimpant en forêt. Le sentier débouche dans les alpages, le suivre jusqu'au hameau de Cousset, dépasser le hameau. Un panneau signalétique, indiquant « Cousset 2015 m » vous attend en amont des bâtiments. Il reste environ 1 h de marche en suivant le sentier, sans intersection. Pour le retour, suivre le sentier à l'envers.

Départ : Parking du Chantel, Hameau de la Gurraz, Villaroger
Arrivée : Parking du Chantel, Hameau de la Gurraz, Villaroger
Communes traversées : VILLAROGER

Profil altimétrique


Recommandations

Refuge également accessible depuis Arc 2000 (4 h) ou Villaroger (5h).
L'itinéraire n'est pas très long, il présente en revanche deux endroits où il faut surveiller les jeunes enfants.
En coeur de parc
Le Parc national est un territoire naturel, ouvert à tous, mais soumis à une réglementation qu’il est utile de connaître pour préparer son séjour

Lieux de renseignement

Office de Tourisme de Bourg Saint Maurice

Place de la Gare<br>73700 Bourg-Saint-Maurice,

http://www.lesarcs.com

contact@lesarcs.com

04 79 07 12 57

Nous vous donnons le maximum d'informations ainsi que des conseils personnalisés afin que vous passiez un agréable séjour à Bourg Saint Maurice/Les Arcs.
Ouverture:
Du 24/04 au 07/07/2017 de 9h à 18h.
Fermé le dimanche.
Fermetures exceptionnelles les Jeudi de l'Ascension, 1er mai et 8 mai.
Fermeture entre 12:00 et 14:00.

Du 08/07 au 02/09/2017, tous les jours de 9h à 19h.

Du 04/09 au 15/12/2017 de 9h à 18h.
Fermé le dimanche.
Fermetures exceptionnelles les jours fériés.
Fermeture entre 12:00 et 14:00.

Du 16/12/2017 au 28/04/2018, tous les jours de 9h à 18h30.
Fermeture entre 12:30 et 13:30.

Services:
Animaux acceptés, Accès Internet Wifi, Accès Internet gratuit

Fiche mise à jour par Les Arcs Bourg Saint Maurice Tourisme le 07/06/2017
En savoir plus

Office de tourisme - Séez

25 rue Célestin Freppaz, 73700 Séez

http://www.otseez.com/

accueil@otseez.com

04 79 41 00 15

En savoir plus

Transport

Desserte ferroviaire jusque Bourg-Saint-Maurice. Renseignements : www.voyages-sncf.com
Puis transports en autocars jusqu'aux chef-lieux de Haute-Tarentaise. Renseignements : www.transavoie.com
Pensez également covoiturage avec www.mobisavoie.fr


Accès routiers et parkings

Sur la D902 entre Sainte-Foy Tarentaise et le barrage de Tignes, prendre la petite route en direction du village de la Gurraz. Traverser le hameau (rue étroite) et se garer à sa sortie sur la droite (Parking).

Stationnement :

Avant les derniers lacets montant au village de la Gurraz, le long de la route menant au village de la Savinaz

Signaler un problème ou une erreur

Vous avez repéré une erreur sur cette page ou constaté un problème lors de votre randonnée, signalez-les nous ici :